Parking Enforcement and Appeals
For information on parking enforcement, paying parking tickets on-line and other traffic related information, please refer to the parking rules and regulations brochure.
Appealing a ticket
All appeals must be received by the parking clerk within 21 days of a violation.
All appeals must be in writing either by letter or via the online appeal form.
Appeal forms are also available from WSU Police Department in Room 102 of Wasylean Hall.
All questions should be directed to the parking clerk at 508-929-8887 (a recorded phone line).
Any questions or concerns regarding the issuance or enforcement of any ticket given by the WSU Police Department should be directed, in writing, to the parking clerk.
Hearings will not be rescheduled, and failure to appear for a hearing will result in a finding of responsibility for the defendant.
Parking violations and fines are published each year at the beginning of the fall semester. A parking brochure will be available upon decal issuance.
Penalties for unpaid fines
Parking violations and fines at WSU are regulated by Chapter 90, Section 20A 1/2 of the Massachusetts General Laws. Under this provision of the law, all fines will increase by $5.00 if not paid within 21 days.
If a ticket is not paid in 45 days, the ticket will increase by an additional $15.00.
When the Registry of Motor Vehicles becomes involved, a surcharge of $20.00 is added by the RMV for each violation. When the registered owner has not paid the fine imposed, they will not be able to renew their license to drive and/or vehicle registration at the Registry of Motor Vehicles until all marked tickets at WSU are paid.
Tickets can be paid to the parking clerk by following means:
• Personal Check—Will be accepted during the initial 60 days after issuance date of the violation and should be made payable to Worcester State University
• Cash Payments will only be taken by parking clerk for tickets that are not registry marked.
• Money orders should be made payable to Worcester State University.
• Bank checks should be made payable to Worcester State University.
• You may pay tickets with a credit card online at www.parkingticketpayment.com/worcesterstate. (Tickets that are registry marked can be paid online. You must contact the parking clerk during regular business hours with the receipt number after payment to have your registration /license renewed.)
The Worcester State University OneCard is not accepted for the payment of fines.
Inquiries about the cost of violations should be made prior to arrival by calling Parking Clerk at 508-929-8887 (a recorded line).
Any motor vehicle parked on university property or satellite lot that does not display a valid parking permit decal of courtesy pass is subject to citation and/or towing without notice at the owner's expense.
Issuance of a parking permit does not guarantee the holder that on any given day space will be available in the designated or preferred area. Police officers or other officials may suggest alternate locations in such cases. All vehicles must be operated on University property in conformity with these Rules and Regulations, and with the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 90. Violators will be subject to penalties as listed under Penalties for Illegal Parking or Operating.
WORCESTER STATE UNIVERSITY ASSUMES NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR DAMAGES TO ANY VEHICLE OR ITS CONTENTS BY REASON OF FIRE, THEFT, VANDALISM, ACCIDENT, OR OTHER CAUSE.
ALL PARKING IS AT THE OWNER'S RISK.
REPORT ALL MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENTS ON CAMPUS TO CAMPUS POLICE DEPARTMENT ROMM102 WWASYLEAN HALL 508-929-8911 (recorded line).
MASSACHUSETTS LAW REQUIRES STUDENTS TO REGISTER WITH THE COMMONWEALTH ALL OUT-OF-STATE MOTOR VEHICLES WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE TIME THE VEHICLE IS BROUGHT INTO MASSACHUSETTS. MASSACHUSETTS LEVIES A $50.00 FINE AGAINST UNREGISTERED OUT -OF-STATE STUDENT MOTOR VEHICLES. (CHAPTER 90, SECTION 3.
If you have any questions, please contact WSU Parking Clerk at 508-929-8887 or firstname.lastname@example.org. The Parking Clerk's Office is located in Wasylean Hall - Room 102. The office is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. (closed from 1-2 p.m. for lunch)