• University Awards

    2021 Academic Achievement Awards

    Jump to:

    Ella M. Whitney Award

    This award, named for Ella M. Whitney, an 1891 graduate of Worcester State University (then known as the Worcester Normal School), recognizes the qualities Ms. Whitney exemplified as a student and alumna, including scholarship, social aptitude, personality, leadership, executive ability, growth, loyalty, integrity, and above all else, participation in school activities.

    Gina Endres

    Gina Endres is an exceptional leader and community member on campus. Gina is a history major with minors in philosophy and pre-law, and an accomplished student leader, who is involved in many co-curricular activities at Worcester State University. Over the past four years, Gina has been a member of Enactus, the competitive entrepreneurship organization on campus. During her time in Enactus, she completed service projects in the Worcester public school system involving anti-bullying awareness, and she developed a food pantry program called “Project Shelves” at one of the local schools. Having a passion for inclusivity and multiculturalism work, Gina has served on the Bias Incident Response Team (BIRT) and the Campus Climate Committee and was active in the planning of the “Rally for Unity” in the spring of 2020. Her passion for volunteerism continues in the community. She first became involved with a non-profit called Angels.Net that assisted immigrants and refugees into the Worcester community. She also continues to volunteer in soup kitchens within the city. Gina has also been inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, Phi Eta Sigma and is a member of the Sheehan Honors Program at Worcester State.

    Ellen J. Meyers M.Ed ‘88 Memorial Academic Merit Award

    This award, established in memory of beloved Worcester State University alumna Ellen J. Meyers, M.Ed ’88, by her husband, David Meyers ’76, is given to an undergraduate student achiever with disabilities who has also been actively engaged on campus or in their community.

    Lauren McIntyre

    Lauren McIntyre is a communication sciences and disorders major focusing on disabilities studies from Tewksbury, Mass. Lauren is a member of the Worcester State Women’s Lacrosse Team, Phi Eta Sigma, and has volunteered with the Best Buddies program and Tewksbury Youth Lacrosse. She was also selected to attend the MIAA Sportsmanship Summit at Gillette Stadium. Lauren will be completing an internship this summer through the Tewksbury Public Schools assisting the BRIDGE program for children diagnosed with autism. After graduation she plans to pursue a master's degree in special education.

    John F. Eager Continuing Education Excellence Award

    This award, given in memory of John F. Eager, the late Worcester State University biology professor and former director of the Division of Graduate and Continuing Education, is given to the undergraduate evening program senior who has the highest overall GPA.

    Theofanis “TJ” Klarakis Jr.

    Theofanis Klarakis Jr. is a business administration major in his final year at Worcester State University. As a non-traditional student, he is often balancing academic and professional responsibilities simultaneously. Theofanis manages a group of franchises in Worcester County and is also a member of Business Networking International in Holden, where he has served on the executive leadership team. When off-campus he is often hiking, reading, playing video games, or attending networking events. Theofanis plans to attend law school after graduation.