Worcester State University
Biology Department

 
Faculty and Staff


Department Chairperson

Steven J. Oliver, Associate Professor
B.S., University of Montana; Ph.D., Boston University
Office: ST-310A
508-929-8554
email: soliver@worcester.edu

Specialization: Behavioral Ecology, Bioacoustics, Marine Biology

Faculty

 

Latifeh Amini-Kormi, Professor
B.Sc., Teheran University; Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Office: ST-310B
508-929-8718
email: lamini@worcester.edu

Specialization: Neuroscience, Sleep Research

Daron Barnard, Associate Professor
Education: B.A., Middlebury College; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Office: ST-310C
508-929-8143
email: dbarnard@worcester.edu
Specialization: Early Development, RNA processing

Peter M. Bradley, Professor
B.Sc., University of Aberdeen; Ph.D., Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Office: ST-310E
508-929-8571
email:
pbradley@worcester.edu

Specialization: Biotechnology

Nirvana Filoramo, Assistant Professor
B.S., University of Massachusetts, M.S., Iowa State University, Ph.D.,
University of Connecticut
Office: ST-310D
508-929-8271
email:
nfiloramo@worcester.edu
Specialization: Evolutionary Morphology & Herpetology

Ellen F. Fynan, Professor
B.S.,University of Maine; Ph.D., Thomas Jefferson University
Office: ST-310G
508-929-8596
email: efynan@worcester.edu
Specialization: Microbiology

Jennifer Hood-DeGrenier, Assistant Professor

B.A.,Williams College; Ph.D., Harvard University
Office: ST-310F
508-929-8307
email: jhooddegrenier@worcester.edu
Specialization: Cell Biology, Cell Cycle Control
 

Surindar M. Paracer, Professor
B.S., Punjab University; M.S., South Dakota University; Ph.D., University of California
Office: ST-310J
508-929-8601
email: sparacer@worcester.edu
Specialization: Symbiosis; History of Biology

Maura Collins Pavao, Professor
B.S. Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Ph.D., Rutgers the State University of NJ
Office: ST-310L
508-929-8963
email: mpavao@worcester.edu

Specialization: Biotechnology, Bioinformatics

Maureen D. Shamgochian, Professor
B.S., Worcester State College; Ph.D., University of Massachusetts

Office: ST-210G

508-929-8640
email: maureen.shamgochian@worcester.edu
Specialization: Physiology, Endocrinology and Cell Biology


 

Antonieto S. Tan, Professor
B.S., M.S., University of San Carlos; Ph.D., University of Southern Mississippi
Office: ST210J
508-929-8717
email: atan@worcester.edu

Specialization: Shell Microstructure, Bivalve Hatchery

Randall L. Tracy, Associate Professor
B.S., MS., University of Connecticut; Ph.D., Arizona State University
Office: ST-310Q
508-929-8611
email: rtracy@worcester.edu

Specialization: Physiology Ecology, Environmental Physiology, Comparative Physiology

Sebastián Vélez, Assistant Professor
B.S., University of Puerto Rico; M.S., University of Notre Dame, Ph.D., Harvard University
Office: ST-310K
508-929-8308
email: svelez@worcester.edu
Specialization: Systematics and Biogeography

Staff

Michael J. Mayko, Supervisory lab technician III
B.S.,Worcester State University
Office: ST-304
508-929-8580
mmayko@worcester.edu
Specialization: Laboratory services

Terren A. Flanders, Technical Assisstant II

B.S., Worcester State University
Office: 310R
508-929-8942
email:tflanders@worcester.edu
Specialization: Laboratory services

Hieuhanh K. Nguyen, Technical Assisstant II
B.S., Worcester State University
Office: ST-310
Phone: 508-929-8936
email:  hnguyen11@worcester.edu
Specialization: Laboratory services

Ruth Ortiz, Secretary
Office: ST-310
Phone: 508-929-8569
email: rortiz2@worcester.edu


 
Related Links
  Current Course Offerings
  Academic Policies and Procedures
  Academic Support Services
  Academic Calendar
  Information Technology
  Financial Aid Office
  Biology Department Newsletter
  Interpret A Genome For Education-flyer
  Pre-medical / Pre- dental


DataBridge © WSU, 486 Chandler Street, Worcester, MA 01602
Phone: 508-929-8000