Worcester State University



There are 11 legal holidays for state employees. Faculty members are entitled to those state holidays which fall within the academic year. Additional days for faculty members are indicated on the academic calendar.

The following days are legal holidays for state employees:

New Year's Day (January 1)

Martin Luther King Day (3rd Monday in January)

Presidents' Day (3rd Monday in February)

Patriots' Day (3rd Monday in April)

Memorial Day (last Monday in May)

Independence Day (July 4)

Labor Day (1st Monday in September)

Columbus Day (2nd Monday in October)

Veterans' Day (November 11)

Thanksgiving Day (4th Thursday in November)

Christmas Day (December 25)

If an employee is absent without pay for a fraction of a day immediately before or after a holiday, s/he is not entitled to receive pay for that holiday.

Related Links

DataBridge © WSU, 486 Chandler Street, Worcester, MA 01602
Phone: 508-929-8000