Worcester State University
Sociology Department



Each year the Sociology Department recognizes three students whose academic and service achievements during their tenure at Worcester State College have distinguished them among their peers.


The Faith T. Zeadey Award for Research and Writing is the Alumni/Academic Major Award for graduating seniors in the department.  Typically this award goes to the student with the highest level of academic achievement among students graduating in a particular year.  This award is named in honor of Faith T. Zeadey, a well-loved and respected former professor and Department Chair who died in 2006.  Traditionally, this award recognizes the student with the highest academic performance among all graduating seniors.   In April 2010, the Faith T. Zeadey Award was presented to Linda Fite.  The award was presented to Kristen Stevens in 2009.


The W.E.B. Dubois Award for Community-Based Research is an Academic Recognition Award which recognizes a student for exceptional research in the community.  Named after famed sociologist W.E.B. Dubois, who was both a scholar and a social activist, this award reflects the Department's commitment to public sociology.  In 2010, the W.E.B. Dubois Award was presented to Joshua Torchia.  The award was presented to Nicole Ciras in 2009.


Also recognizing the Sociology Department's commitment to public sociology is the Bob Goss Service Award.  This award is named in honor of Robert Goss who is a community activist and organizer, and was involved with ACT UP in Boston.  In 2010, the Bob Goss Service Award was presented to Karyn Anderson.  In 2009, Jusin McNulty received this award.


In addition, sociology major Jenkins Macedo was presented with the Worcester State College Community Engagement Award winner by the Colleges of the Worcester Consortium in April 2010.

Related Links

DataBridge © WSU, 486 Chandler Street, Worcester, MA 01602
Phone: 508-929-8000